Getting Marriage License Information by Telephone
Information on marriage licenses may be obtained via the telephone system, any day or any time, by calling (808) 586-4545
Where to Apply for a Marriage License on Kauai: (808) 241-3498
- Marriage/Civil Union License Application Fee: $60.00
- Application Processing Fee: $5.00
What is the difference between Marriage and Civil Union?
Marriage License - A valid marriage contract shall be only between a man and a woman pursuant to Hawaii law (see HRS §572-1). Couples who select the marriage option on this website must meet all of the requirements of Hawaii law for being married. A marriage will not be registered and a marriage certificate will not be issued for a couple who does not meet the legal requirements for marriage in the State of Hawaii, even if a license is obtained or if a solemnization ceremony occurs. No refunds will be issued to couples who select this option in error and proceed through all of the steps, including payment. A marriage license is not valid for a civil union and cannot be exchanged for one.
Civil Union License - Civil Union means a union between two individuals established pursuant to Chapter 572B (HRS §572B-1). IT IS NOT THE SAME AS A MARRIAGE. Couples who select the civil union option on this website must meet all of the requirements of Hawaii law for entering a civil union. A civil union will not be registered and a civil union certificate will not be issued for a couple who does not meet the legal requirements for civil union in the State of Hawaii, even if a license is obtained or if a solemnization ceremony occurs. No refunds will be issued to couples who select this option in error and proceed through all of the steps, including payment. A civil union license is not valid for a marriage and cannot be exchanged for one.
Facts about a Hawaii Marriage / Civil Union License
Age -- The legal age to marry is 18 years for males and females. However, with the written consent of both parents, legal guardian or family court, the male or female may be married at 16 or 17. Males and females at age 15 may marry with the written consent of both parents or legal guardian and the written approval of the judge of the family court. The parents or guardian do not have to reside in the state. Consent forms may be obtained from the marriage license agent.
Proof of Age -- A certified copy of a birth certificate must be presented for anyone 18 and under. For anyone 19 and over, proof of age may be requested in the form of an I.D. or driver's license.
Blood Relationship -- Cousins may marry, but a blood relationship between the prospective bride and groom cannot be closer than first cousins (for example: uncle-niece, half-brother-sister may not marry).
Blood tests are not required.